image image
Latest News

Stars Align for Second International Women's Boxing Hall of Fame Ceremony July 11, 2015 in Ft. Lauderdale, Florida - Press Release in Spanish

PORTLAND, OR - (May 7, 2015) On July 10, 2014, the initial class of the International Women's Boxing Hall of Fame was inducted, during a star studded ceremony, at the Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six in Fort Lauderdale, FL. Seven icons of the sport were honored in one of the most significant events of the year in the sport of Women's boxing. All living inductees, six in total, were in attendance to receive their honors (Joann Hagan, a pioneer boxer in the 1950s was honored posthumously) and to be paid homage by a sell-out crowd of enthusiastic boxing fans and dignitaries. The 2014 inductees ranged from three world champions who set high the sport's early ring skill level in the rings of Europe and the US (Christy Martin, Lucia Rijker, Regina Halmich), a former boxer turned world class trainer (Bonnie Canino), a true trailblazing female athlete who broke through many boxing barriers in both England and the US in the earliest days of the sport in order to achieve the right to compete in a professional boxing ring (Barbara Buttrick) and a PHD and former boxer who was among those most instrumental in successfully culminating a long struggle to bring female boxing to the Olympic Games in 2012 (Christy Halbert).

On Saturday, July 11, 2015, the focus of the sport of Women's boxing will again return to Ft. Lauderdale for the induction ceremony of the second class of eight honorees. And once more, all living inductees will be in attendance at the Hyatt Regency Pier Sixty-Six to receive the sport's year.

Laila Ali

Jeannine Garside

Deirdre Gogarty

Phyllis Kugler

Sparkle Lee

Terri Moss

Laura Serrano

Ann Wolfe

The honorees will include: Laila Ali, the putative "face" of the sport of Women's boxing in the early and middle years of the new century, who extended the fame of what is generally considered the most famous name in the sport of boxing; Laura Serrano who, from the mid 1990s thru the first decade of the new century, blazed a trail for a long line of talented Mexican female fighters; Ann Wolfe who established herself, over a twenty six bout professional career (sixteen KOs, one loss), as one of the hardest punchers in the history of the sport; Jeannine Garside, a Canadian, who fought her way to the undisputed top of the female featherweight division late in the first decade of the new century and who set a standard for the appellation "action fighter" during her fourteen bout career; Deirdre Gogarty, who in the last decade of the previous century, showed the way forward for female boxers in Ireland; Terri Moss, former fighter who continues to "give back" to her sport via writing, filmmaking, strong advocacy, and by establishing, in Atlanta, the benchmark for "White Collar" boxing events which continue to proliferate among novice boxers throughout the country, popularizing the sport among the growing millennial demographic and Sparkle Lee, who burst through untold numerous bureaucratic barriers to become, in 2001, the first female referee licensed by the New York State Athletic Commission and who has continued to exhibit her outstanding skills throughout the ensuing years as a ring arbiter. Phyllis Kugler, a pioneer boxer in the 1950s, will be honored with a posthumous induction to the Hall.

Joining the inductees in Florida on July 11 will be a standout group of boxing personalities including three members of the first class of the IWBHF: Christy Martin, Bonnie Canino and Barbara Buttrick. Also in attendance will be current highly ranked boxers, Shelly Vincent, Chevelle Hallback, Laura Ramsey, Noemi Bosques,  and KO Kali Reis along with former boxer Yvonne Reis, retired kickboxer and founder of the Beautiful Brawlers Blanca Gutierrez, who both continue to be active in the sport. Also on hand will be Malissa Smith, author of the definitive "History of Women's Boxing", Jill Morley, author, documentary film maker and amateur boxer who created the award winning, "Fight Like A Girl," Martha Dodson, Ringside Physician, USA Boxing and Glen Johnson, former middleweight contender.

Presiding over the ceremony as MC will be the renowned West Coast ring announcer Jake Gutierrez who has worked with, among others, Top Rank Boxing, Golden Boy Promotions and Gary Shaw Promotions, who has appeared on HBO, Showtime, ESPN, BBC, TSN, Telemundo, Univision, and various Pay Per View and Satellite Networks. In addition to extensive work in the US, Gutierrez has taken his talents to Mexico, Canada, Great Britain and the Philippines.

Schedule of Event

2:15 - 4:00 p.m.: Meet and Greet (with a Cash Bar) including the photograph and autograph session with inductees / celebrities present. We will have available for purchase IWBHF Official posters, IWBHF Official programs, 2015 IWBHF T-shirts, Everlast Gloves for autograph purposes.

4:00 - 6:30 p.m.: IWBHF Induction Ceremony. There will be a plated dinner for guests. The event will be world-wide live webcasted, with host Jake Gutierrez of Las Vegas, Nevada, who has appeared on HBO, Showtime, ESPN, BBC, TSN, Telemundo, Univision, and various Pay Per View and Satellite Networks.

7:00 p.m.: The Finals of the Women's National Golden Gloves 2015 - Guests will see many of our top rated USA amateur female boxers fighting in the finals at this time.

For special Hyatt Regency Pier 66 hotel rates, go here: 

Hyatt Regency Parking:
$10 overnight self, $15.00 overnight valet. Day self parking is $3.00 for the first hour and $1.00 for each additional hour.

To Purchase tickets for the event:   

image image